Fall 2022 Profile Evaluation & School Suggestions - Stat PhD

Hi everyone, I'm a current third-year undergrad and just one semester away from submitting my PhD application. I would say since the second semester of my sophomore year, I've been fascinated by various topics in statistics and worked hard to prepare applying to grad school. However, due to the increasing competition in PhD application and the COVID situation, I find it hard to position myself in the applicant pool and match up with different schools. Any suggestion/comment is appreciated. Thx in advance!

Undergrad Institution: UC Berkeley

Majors: Statistics & Computer Science (B.A. not EECS B.S.)

GPA: 3.94 (Major GPAs 4.0 for both)

Type of Students: International

GRE: haven't taken any but I'm a good test taker, so I just assume I will do well on the general test. Probably would take the math test as well.

Completed Courses (Undergrad, all A/A+)

• Stat: Probability Theory, Math Stat, Stochastic Processes, Bayesian Statistics, Linear Regression & Application, Programming in R
  • Math: Multivariate Calc, Linear Algebra and ODE (proof-based), Real Analysis I and II (measure theory included)
  • CS: Intro to AI, Machine Learning, Data Structure, Computer Graphics

(first/second year prerequisite courses like intro to statistics are omitted)

Grad-level Courses : Deep Reinforcement Learning, Analysis of Time Series, Theoretical Statistics (a PhD first year course that I will take next semester)

Research Experience:

• 1 semester biostatistics research with PhD student on dimensionality reduction.
  • 1 year (ongoing) long self-driving car project in a Berkeley lab, focusing on the perception and planning modules. Might have a publication in reinforcement learning (not really relevant to statistics IMO) with a PhD candidate before application.
  • Honor thesis research & paper with an associate professor on a Bayesian statistics topic (tentative) starting in the summer.

Awards/Honors/Recognitions: