Modern Languages for Classicists

turbotimo

Hey everyone,

I'm going to be doing a master's program in Classics next year. I studied Latin, Ancient Greek, and German in undergrad. I'm hoping to start studying either French or Italian in the months leading up to my master's program.

I've heard that French is generally more useful (as a secondary source language) if you work on the Greek side of things, while Italian is more useful on the Latin side of things. Is there anything to this?

I'm most interested in later Roman history and Latin texts. Also, I learned some Italian in elementary school (though I've forgotten nearly all of it). Because of all this, I'm leaning towards Italian. I'm open to any advice, however.

Many thanks!

It can vary even based on subtopic. I think there tends to be a bit more scholarship overall in French, so I'd probably recommend that, but it shouldn't be too difficult for you to pick up either or both if/when needed. (I did French as my second modern after German, but will likely work on Italian in a year or two.) 

Definitely French: arguably there's more scholarship in French as a whole (and older dialects of French are more accessible if you end up needing to reference works from pre-17th century, etc). Plus, with French, you'll have a much easier time with Italian, and could potentially pick that up on your own. German is also critical!

2 hours ago, alcestis21 said:

Definitely French: arguably there's more scholarship in French as a whole (and older dialects of French are more accessible if you end up needing to reference works from pre-17th century, etc). Plus, with French, you'll have a much easier time with Italian, and could potentially pick that up on your own. German is also critical!

4 hours ago, Marcus_Aurelius said: