GRE AW score annoys me.....

salade

I am an engineering student and just got my GRE score 560(V)+800(Q)+3.5(AW) two day back. I felt OK with V and Q part but, the AW score really annoyed me as I am not sure now whether to retake the GRE to increase the AW score or not.

To provide you any other information that I consider useful, I am an international student and have published 3 international journal papers as the first author when doing my MSc in Canada. I wish these publications may be a compensate for the relatively low score in AW part cauz I am thinking at least these papers show my capability of logical writing in English.

I am planning to apply for some top schools in States for the coming Fall 2011

Can anyone offer some thought on this dilemma :rolleyes:

Many thanks~~

I got into a top school (in math) with your AW score. I think it is completely insignificant for an engineering applicant, especially international one.

Yeah, that's some of my friends told me. I just can not help worrying.... DO NOT WANT MY APPLICATION TO BE SCREWED BY GRE AW....:huh:

I got a 4 on the AW, but it didn't seem to hurt my admissions anywhere. Don't worry!

Thanks for your kind reply :rolleyes: . I have already made my mind that I will be using this GRE score to apply for the coming Fall admission 2011 anyway. :ph34r:

• 3 weeks later...

Hey, I got a GRE score of 1440 ( 800Q + 640 V + 3.0(A)) I had applied to 3 univs for MS in Ind Engineerin. Georgia, Virginia and UIUC and I got denied by all three..

When asd for the reason, Georgia replied tht it was solely AWA. I dint ask the rest 3. Can anyone help me? What do I do?

I have a pretty decent profile.

Writing is probably my weakest area, but I managed a 4.5 on the GRE AW. I basically followed a template which said that it would pretty much give me a 4.5. If you plan on retaking it, then I suggest you read the Barron's section for the AW and just follow their template recommendation to get a 4.5.