Advice desperately needed: Current SLP student

Hello everyone,

I'll try to make this post short. 

I am currently in my first year of my SLP program. I have been doing great so far this year and I'm just about to start a clinical placement with my program. Unfortunately, this clinical placement is currently occurring during a turbulent time in my personal life. Additionally, I am also self-isolating before I can begin my placement in about a week. 

I've been self-isolating for over a week now and have experienced some severe mental health issues the length of my self-isolation (possible depressive episodes, anxiety attacks, not sleeping, not eating, etc.) and have considered withdrawing from this placement and taking it the next placement date when I may be in a better headspace. I have confirmed with my school this is possible, but I have been getting push back from family basically telling me to "suck it up". The placement doesn't start for another week so I want to decide before I begin. I've been trying to deal with these emotions for the length of my self-isolation and feel that it may be the best option for my mental health.

I really just wanted to see if anyone else has experienced something like this, or am I being too dramatic? The thought of withdrawing and possible delaying my placements by 8 weeks doesn't bother me. It's just the attitudes I may have to face once I'm home. 

TL;DR: Stress + personal issues + clinical placement = Mental health issues affecting my ability to possibly complete placement. Withdrawing from current placement before it begins a viable option?

Thanks!

Hello @BlueWaters!