Statistics PhD with Econ Background

ccc88

Hello!

I am an international undergraduate freshman currently attending a Top 50 QS Asian university, majoring in economics. I am interested, if possible, in applying to Statistics PhD programs in the US right after I graduate. However, my econ background is making me scared of really applying to stats programs since I don't see a lot of econ majors really making it to the top programs. I will try my best to take the sufficient math courses such as linear algebra, advanced calculus, etc and try to get as much research experience as possible and maybe even get some applied statistics-related internships (since I'm more or less more interested in applied stats). Are top stats PhD programs truly impossible considering my background? Will definitely take the GRE Math subject test if it's necessary to prove my math ability to the adcoms tbh.

Thanks!

It does seem as though the very top-tier schools (Stanford, Harvard, UChicago, Berkeley) do accept mainly international students who majored in mathematics or statistics, but I have occasionally seen some economics majors do okay in Statistics PhD admissions in the tier of schools below that (e.g. I know of some people who went to Duke for their PhD who have undergrad degrees in Economics). If you major is not Math or Statistics, then I think it is very important to demonstrate strong evidence of mathematical maturity in your application -- e.g. two semesters of real analysis and other evidence of ability to do advanced proof-based math would help. 

Is there any way that you could pick up a double major in Mathematics? That would probably be your best bet if you're aiming for "top" schools. Internships don't really matter much for Stats PhD programs.