PhD Application for Fall 2022 (Applied Math or Statistics)

Student Type: Domestic student

Applying for: Applied Math and Statistics PHD Fall 2022

Undergrad: Relatively Unknown Liberal Arts

Major: Biochemistry and Economics, Minor: Mathematics

GPA: 3.7 (Biochemistry 3.8, Economics 3.85)

I had a late encounter with mathematics my Senior year and completely redirected my focus towards Mathematics. Along the way I've found an affinity for applied mathematics (scientific computing stuff) and statistics (on the theory side). As such I'm a pretty non-traditional student, I won't be including the many biology/chemistry courses nor the plethora of economics courses I have taken (it feels pretty irrelevant now, just fun stuff to know I guess). Anyways, I'll include some of the courses I took during a gap year at my local top 30 university before starting my Master's at a top 50 liberal arts program. Unfortunately, I won't be able to take many more courses directly aligned with statistics (perhaps an Intro to ML course) as I have ran out of courses that I can take that I offered this coming school year...

Master's: Mathematics

GPA: 3.99 (Over 11 Courses for the Past School Year/Summer)

Undergrad Math: Calc 2/3 (A-/A-), Linear Algebra (A), Intro Statistics (A), Intro to Proof (A-), Abstract Algebra 1 (A), Complex Analysis (A), Abstract Linear Algebra (A-), Real Analysis 1 (A), Real Analysis 2 (A), Topology (A-), Numerical Analysis (A), Numerical Linear Algebra (A+), Probability Theory (A+), Mathematical Statistics (A+), Differential Geometry (A), Mathematics of Data Science (A), Topological Data Analysis (A).

Graduate Math: Abstract Algebra 1 (A-), Measure Theory (A-), Complex Analysis (A+), Uncertainty Quantification (A), Markov Chains and Mixing Times (A).

Remark: The A+ are quirks of my current institution, they do not impact GPA, but serve as indicators of maintaining above a 98%/strength in coursework