Applying to grad school with low overall GPA but high philosophy GPA

Fkarachi

I got my degree in philosophy two years ago from a school with a fairly reputable philosophy department. I had a 3.91 philosophy major GPA(all As and one B ) but a 2.5 overall GPA. I was mostly too uninterested or unmotivated in any classes other than philosophy. I also found at my senior year that I had ADHD(which also caused depression and other issues), and the medication for that has helped me tremendously(I think I would have had a great GPA if I had the medication the entire time). Since leaving school, I have worked full-time in data-science(self taught) and one of my main hobbies/obsessions has been reading philosophy. I have matured to the point where I obviously realize now that I should have put the work in to all my classes(as I always thought grad school was something I wanted to do in the future). I think I could do good work in a master's program and then apply to a PhD after.

I have spoken recently with a few of my professors from undergrad, and they were all very supportive when I suggested that I was thinking of applying for grad school. One in particular(who has a degree from the University of Chicago and whose opinion I respect highly) told me that they think I have a special talent for philosophy and that they would be glad to write me a letter of recommendation. I explained my 2.5 GPA problem to them, and they said that they think I would likely get the attention of the entrance committees due to my high philosophy GPA. This along with a good GRE score and a my writing sample(which I have been working on and have received encouraging and constructive feedback on) would likely be enough to get a chance to explain my mental health situation and likely be accepted into some reputable programs.

What do you all think? I do feel that this professor might be overly encouraging as we have always gotten along personally very well.

Edited by Fkarachi