History of Science Recs

wynntir

Hi all,

So I'm feeling a bit lost, even after reading through all the related topics here, and would appreciate any and all advice. I'm a current undergrad double major in Secondary Education and History at a large state research University. My capstone professor has convinced me to consider grad school for history, rather than education, which was my original plan. I am considering just doing a MA, but finding one in my field that is funded seems pretty impossible. I'm not sure if I want to devote myself to applying for a PhD right off the bat because I'm not sure of my chances, and I've had my eye on a education PhD program at Stanford that I am very unqualified for at the moment without teaching experience.

I have a 4.0, had an internship at a medical archive that included a publication, I've worked in public history as a historic tour guide for the last 4 years, I own my own (unrelated) business, and I spent the last three summers teaching an inner city summer school. By the time I graduate next fall I will have student taught. I have at least two very strong letters of recommendation from professors who know and love me, and my writing skills are very strong. All that being said, I don't have any volunteer/extracurriculars outside of one sport because I work full time, and I did transfer into my program with just a 3.8 from a very different major. I know that all of these things don't determine my admittance, but coming into this blind, I don't know if I would be considered for the top institutions or if I should aim lower.