Profile Eval Request

jjiffy

Hi everybody! I am on round 2 of PhD apps. I graduated a year ago but decided to pursue an MA after getting shut out of PhD apps last cycle (except for an offer with no funding). I plan to focus on international relations with a specific focus on military effectiveness, conventional war, and civil-military relations. I am wondering if my chances will have changed much from last year now that I am working on an MA and COVID has sort of moved along. I would like to know what you all think. Thanks for taking a look!

Undergrad: 3.73 GPA, special honors in the major and magna cum laude. Major in International Affairs with a minor in history. Private school, around #50-60 but top 10 in IR. I was involved in a 2 year undergrad research program/fellowship. I also won a large (by undergrad standards) grant to work on the project during the summer of 2020. I have presented the final work at a symposium with the rest of my cohort and it will be published in a sort of edited volume for the program but I don't intend to do anything else with the final product. I also was involved in another research seminar that more closely aligns with my current research interests, and did an independent study of a PhD level IR field seminar. My biggest weakness here is lack of quant skills. I took a survey econ course and then intro to stats in sophomore year but I got a c+ in it. 

Masters: I am currently working on a 1-year, research intensive MA at a top 10 program. My concentrations are international security and research methods. I am working on the PhD quant methods sequence here, along with some courses in qual methods/research design and IR seminars. I am in the early stages of an MA thesis but it won't be ready to use for this round of applications. 

GRE: 168V/160Q/5.5AWA