Do I have a shot? [ Stanford and Berkley MS ]

enub

Hello and thanks in advance for your advice,

I have recently started putting a lot of thought into going to grad school. I am on track to graduate from North Dakota State University in Spring 2011. I transfered to NDSU from a small private liberal arts school three semesters ago with a 3.23 GPA. My GPA essentially started over at NDSU and I expect to graduate from here with roughly a 3.8+.

My major is management information systems (MIS) but I've learned to love the nitty gritty of computers and am interested in getting a MS in computer science. I'll have about two years of work at Microsoft under my belt by the time I graduate. The work as been some programming, database administration, and sharepoint/SQL deployment. I'm also president of the MIS Club on campus and actively volunteer and am starting my own non-profit to help charities. I'm pretty compitent with a number of languages (VB.net, C#, Java, PHP, VBA, SQL) but lack some of the fundamentals I would have gotten with a CS major such as algorithm techniques etc.

I'm typically an above average test taker but I don't expect to be able to hit 90th percentile on the GRE or the CS subject GRE.

The question is, do I have a shot at the Berkley or Stanford CS masters program? If not, any other recommendations. I've got two standing job offers right now for when I graduate, so I likely wouldn't walk away from them unless I got into an upper tier school.

Thanks

I don't understand how your GPA started over when you transferred. Your grades should be taken into account even if you transferred and you will need to submit transcripts from all schools when you apply.

Stanford

Q: Do you have to be a Computer Science undergraduate major to apply?

No, it is not required that a student have majored in CS but it is important that you have strong quantitative and analytical skills.

http://www.eecs.berkeley.edu/Gradadm/Prerequisites.htm