Where you would live, where you wouldn't... (job placement after phd)

njw

I was wondering if anybody else, especially perhaps older students who have seen a little more of what the world has to offer thinks about the academic job market in terms of location.

Personally that is one of, if not my main fear in whether to pursue the PhD or not. My current pursuit is a terminal masters program.

I had mentioned in another thread that I am a non typical older student, in this time I've grown a particular affinity for a certain urban lifestyle that only certain cities in the U.S. offer. i.e. I would probably like to be in the greater New York/Boston/Philadelphia stretch or the Chicago market. I probably would not be happy elsewhere. Actually, I KNOW I wouldn't be, been there, done that. Also my partner given their profession needs access to a large market as well as having built up a good deal of friends/colleagues and/or family in those regions. If I were to be offered an assistant professorship or tenure, I would rather be in a less prestigious school in somewhere I enjoyed living vs. more prestigious in an environment I didn't like.

Where is the job market harder to break into? Big cities? Or college towns? Are there regional differences? Does anybody else feel similar in regards to the academic job market and where you might end up?

Edited by njw

I don't know what your field is, but in my field the market is extra lean. Realistically speaking, I know that I'll be lucky to have more than one offer after I receive my PhD, so I'm by no means going to limit myself geographically. As most people, I have some geographical preferences based on my past experiences, but I will go to almost any part of the country for an assistant professorship or tenure (despite the fact that I'm studying in a "top" program, for what it's worth).

Edited by JustChill