Considering leaving grad school ABD, but need advice

Anonymous Questioner

As you can probably imagine, this is a pretty stressful time, so I'll try my best to articulate my question clearly, but it may reflect my messy mental state.

I'm currently in my fourth year of a PhD program in English Lang and Lit. I arrived to the program wide-eyed and idealistic, believing deeply in the university's ability to advance knowledge and wisdom. I believed that by joining the ranks of the professoriate, I'd be evading the trappings of corporate/professional life and devoting myself to the life of the mind. The COVID-19 pandemic and various other institutional factors have revealed that this is not at all the case, that the idealism I had been chasing is not present at elite universities, and that professors are often the same uncurious careerists that dominate other lines of work. Additionally, as a creative writer of erudite kind, I had imagined that pursuing scholarship would have a direct carry-over to my creative endeavors. As it turns out (and I admit that it was probably naive of me not to realize this earlier), scholarship is a profession with very specific professional imperatives--being interested in ideas (even complicated theoretical ideas that are at home in the academy) is not itself constitutive of pursuing scholarship. In my course work, I excelled because I loved discussing ideas. My prelims exam also went extraordinarily well. But since taking the exam, I have realized that I have no "intervention" to make in the scholarship. I don't care about the obscure details of some scholarly debate, defending or challenging someone's "intervention," offering my own. This has nothing to do with what initially drew me to literature and thought.