UCLA vs University of Minnesota - MS in Biostatistcs

Hey everyone,

I am an international student and I have received 2 offers from UCLA and Minnesota for my masters in Biostatistics program. I would like to know which is better program for Biostatistics. My priorities right now are job prospects and good teaching faculties. I will be taking out a loan to fund my masters program so I will need to secure a decent paying job after I complete my program. I researched a lot and found out that Minnesota is a better and cheaper program in comparison to UCLA but UCLA has a major location advantage which might improve my chances for a job/internship. I am completely confused and would really appreciate your insights.

Moreover, I understand that most of the masters students do not receive any teaching/research assistantships in their 1st year but do a significant amount of masters students secure any form of assistantship in their final year of the program [This would help me fund my masters program]?

You will only have a (small) advantage in job prospects if you absolutely need to live in LA after graduating. Minnesota is a good program, and I don't see a reason to choose UCLA unless you think the city/weather is worth the extra money or you have personal reasons to settle down in California.

• 2 weeks later...

@bayessays Thank you so much for the response. I just have one more query. While applying for jobs [data scientist/data analyst/statistician], do companies weigh in the reputation of the college or the reputation of the program [UCLA has a better overall ranking, whereas in terms of the biostatistics program, Minnesota ranks better] or are they more concerned about the internships and projects that we have completed?

Edited by kails28