So How long should you study before taking GREs

Mattk87

Ok I am thinking of going to grad school. I graduated in May and I want to get the ball rolling as soon as possible. It seems after looking online you can schedule to take the GRE about any time you want, so I was wondering for all those who have taken the GRE how long would you suggest a person would want to study for it, and would you reccomend just taking the normal GRE or a specialized one?

Ok I am thinking of going to grad school. I graduated in May and I want to get the ball rolling as soon as possible. It seems after looking online you can schedule to take the GRE about any time you want, so I was wondering for all those who have taken the GRE how long would you suggest a person would want to study for it, and would you reccomend just taking the normal GRE or a specialized one?

I'm in history as well, and none of the schools I applied to required the subject test. I don't even know if there is one. There must be, I guess. To be honest, I think it would be a waste of time unless you have VERY little background in history. Even then I would recommend taking some kind of course in the fall over taking the history subject test.

I took the GRE twice (my first AW score was absolutely horrible, so I had to take it again). Both times I gave myself just over a month to prepare. The first time I took it was in early February of my senior year. I spent the entirety of my January break studying for it. The second time I took it was in late July of that same year. I waited to study until a week or two after my graduation ceremony.

Even if you want to take a specialized GRE, you'll almost certainly need to take the general as well.

Personally, I think people spend too much time studying for the GRE that could be put to better use improving their resume in other ways.

I scheduled my GRE a month in advance, and then studied when I could over that time frame.