Tips and Tricks for the Subject Exam

CSJ

Hey All,

I have recently learned that some of the schools for the programs I am applying to (phd in I/O) require the subject exam for their consideration. I was just wondering if anyone who has taken in the past has any tips or tricks to receive a higher score. Any advice would be very helpful. Thanks.

Cory

Hey All,

I have recently learned that some of the schools for the programs I am applying to (phd in I/O) require the subject exam for their consideration. I was just wondering if anyone who has taken in the past has any tips or tricks to receive a higher score. Any advice would be very helpful. Thanks.

Cory

I know what hurt me when I took the subject test was the fact that I didn't make myself more rounded prior to taking the test. I focus mostly with Experimental, Abnormal and Personality psychology when I was an undergrad and didn't take any classes involved with Perception or Educational Psych. You can look online I believe and get the breakdown of the different subjects that will be covered by the test, but when I took it, I remember it being very Perception and Experimental with a touch of the other areas.

No real tricks for the exam, other than eliminating answer choices and just guessing. I find that with a lot of the questions, you either have to explicitly know the answer to be able to discern between 2-4 very similar answer choices (which statistical test would you use, which experimenter did what, etc), or have a general gist of what the answer is and eliminate obvious wrong answers.

No real tricks for the exam, other than eliminating answer choices and just guessing. I find that with a lot of the questions, you either have to explicitly know the answer to be able to discern between 2-4 very similar answer choices (which statistical test would you use, which experimenter did what, etc), or have a general gist of what the answer is and eliminate obvious wrong answers.