Music composition GRE

txonet

Hi everybody!

I plan to apply to several Master's degrees in music composition in the US. Today I just did the GRE and I got 650Q and 400V. I'm an international student, but I studied my undergrad in composition in the US and I have a 3.89 GPA. I feel the verbal part is terrible, so would you repeat it?

Thank you!

Hi everybody!

I plan to apply to several Master's degrees in music composition in the US. Today I just did the GRE and I got 650Q and 400V. I'm an international student, but I studied my undergrad in composition in the US and I have a 3.89 GPA. I feel the verbal part is terrible, so would you repeat it?

Thank you!

Verbal is definetely too low, even for an international student. I think it must be at least 550. At least.

However, I know more about standards for PhD applications. May be for Master's degrees 400 is enough...

strangefox, how do you know that you need 550V at least?

Well, it depends on a program of course. I wrote "at least" because when I was looking for programs to apply to and browsing their websites, 550 was the least acceptable score I saw. Some programs indicated that you need to have 600 or 650 in each category. There are programs that state that there is no minimum score.

I read a lot of threads where people discuss this issue. And it is my understanding that ok score is 1200 with 600 in each category. It can be a little lower. But only a little :) There are so many different opinions about the GRE! I am an international student myself, so I read very carefully all I could and made my conclusions. I read about people who got into good programs with the total score of 900. I read that in some programs they do not even look at your application if your total score is 900 :) It's all very convoluted... Everyone has to decide for him/herself if other parts of their application can compensate for a low score.