Year to prepare for 2nd try on GRE

nu_wildcat

Hi all,

I took the GRE this summer as a rising junior (probably not my best decision to take it early). I scored a 550 on verbal and 670 on quantitative. I'll take it again next August with the new GRE. Vocab is a huge weakness for me and I struggled even after studying for two months. I did successfully learn the 300 common GRE words in the Princeton Review Cracking the GRE book. However, I'm not sure how to prepare for the verbal on the new test. I'm pretty good with sentence completion, but should I still be working on vocab to raise my score next year?

I'm a dedicated student that is willing to take the time to raise my scores. Any suggestions are appreciated!

For those of you who are already done with the GRE, if you had a significant amount of time to prepare for the GRE what would you recommend?

Thank you!

Hi all,

I took the GRE this summer as a rising junior (probably not my best decision to take it early). I scored a 550 on verbal and 670 on quantitative. I'll take it again next August with the new GRE. Vocab is a huge weakness for me and I struggled even after studying for two months. I did successfully learn the 300 common GRE words in the Princeton Review Cracking the GRE book. However, I'm not sure how to prepare for the verbal on the new test. I'm pretty good with sentence completion, but should I still be working on vocab to raise my score next year?

I'm a dedicated student that is willing to take the time to raise my scores. Any suggestions are appreciated!

For those of you who are already done with the GRE, if you had a significant amount of time to prepare for the GRE what would you recommend?

Thank you!

You definetely must learn words and I would recommend reading more authors who use GRE vocabulary! :) It's much easier to learn words when you see them in the context.