Application asking about other schools applied to?

UrbanWonk

So in starting (yes, starting!) my grad school applications the other day, I found that two of them asked where else I was applying. It's an optional question on both, but should I answer it? Anyone have any experience with this? It seemed extremely odd to me, but I'm kind of new at this.

So in starting (yes, starting!) my grad school applications the other day, I found that two of them asked where else I was applying. It's an optional question on both, but should I answer it? Anyone have any experience with this? It seemed extremely odd to me, but I'm kind of new at this.

If it's optional, you don't have to give them an answer. Mostly it's just for their statistics - they want to know where else their applicants are applying. In this forum there are some old threads somewhere on this topic. You might try to find them. As far as I remember, people wrote there that there is nothing dangerous in answering this question.

I think mostly they use it to see if you're applying to them as a "low end" or "high end" school. That, and statistics.

They want to see who they're competing with when it comes to making offers, in my experience.

There's nothing dangerous about answering, I did it on all of my apps and it caused me no problems.

This is a pretty common question. After being accepted to schools, I was called by the director of admissions at one who wanted to know if I'd been accepted to other schools on my list and whether there was a good chance I would enroll at in his program. I think this question is just a preliminary way of seeing where they ran, and also to see where else you are interested in studying, which could provide insight into the other faculty with whom you want to work.

Why can it provide such insight?