Guidance abt. molecular bio programs

qbeta

I'm basically just looking for some advice here as to how to direct my search for a program in molecular bio or biochemistry. I'm also interested in computational biology as I used to be a computer programmer. My stats are GPA 3.68 from a second tier state U and GRE 690Q, 710V. I don't have my AW scores yet. I took the GRE about 6 years ago and got 750Q, 760V, 6/6 AW though so I know I could probably do better on a retake. Anyway, I'm applying to a couple schools locally but am also looking out of state. I have 4 references, all very good but they are just from people I took classes from. In one case I was the 2nd highest class grade though. I also did an internship but it didn't work out due to some problems coordinating things with a person in the lab who didn't like me, so I'm not going to use that PI as a reference. Anyone have suggestions about where I might apply with a high probability of success? I have very little money to spend on application fees and of course not much time left to get in for Fall 2011.

Are you applying for MS or PhD? Regardless, you shouldn't be looking to apply just for the sake of getting in into a graduate program. At this point in your academic life, you (most probably) should know what programs you are interested and what career paths you want to follow in the future. I say this because your post gives the impression that you are desperate to get into any given program... which isn't the sound motive/decision you should carry with you.