Thinking about the future

robot_hamster

My situation is pretty complicated and I think a lot of my fellow students just don't understand. When I graduated from high school, I literally ran away with my boyfriend. We lived together for many years, struggling with our finances. He was trying to go to school, but it was difficult because he did not qualify for financial aid. His parents were trying to help him out, but his attendance was patchy (he would go for a semester, then skip a semester, etc). I didn't go to college during this time because I didn't qualify for financial aid either. I'm not sure what happened, but at some point he decided we shouldn't put off getting married anymore. We got married and suddenly I qualified for financial aid. I went to college as a non-traditional student and I never looked back. I graduated and then I decided to go to graduate school right away. To me, it feels like so much time has been wasted so why put off going to graduate school? I'm in a masters program right now, but husband has decided to complete his undergraduate degree. We are poor, we have no money, and we live in a crappy house. My husband is older than me and so he's been having thoughts about having a family. Me? I am no where near ready. I hear people talking about taking time off from school to work for awhile and get some experience in their field (I have spent my entire adult life working retail). Before I will be ready to move on to the "next step" of married life, I'm going to want to be finished with my education and already have a good job that's paying off all of our ridiculous debts. The problem is, I'm not sure if I want to stop at a Masters. I'm afraid though that if I work for awhile after getting my Masters, that I may end up never coming back to get a PhD. So it's like I'm on this fast track marathon to get my education finished all at once. I hear horror stories about people with a PhD and no work experience. At the same time, I realize that I'm