Limbo year, what to do?

Hey all,

I may be jumping the gun, but nonetheless i am being realistic, particularly given one of my LORs has been incommunicado since October and has been on sick leave since late Nov, hence has not submitted, and my replacement LOR only submitted for three schools, even two of my applications incomplete.

So, i'm assuming i'm looking at five rejections... and i know i need to work on how to improve my chances for next year.

Here's me:

I did my BA (English) in the UK at one of the best places for English in the country, but it's not really known worldwide. I also did a year abroad at a very well-known and highly-regarded liberal arts college in the US. I graduated with First Class Honours.

I'm currently doing my MA (English and American Studies) at the second most highly-ranked postgrad English programme in the UK (different institution). However, it's not Oxbridge, and to be honest i don't think it's too well-known outside of the UK. It looks like i'll graduate with a Distinction (the system, for those not familiar, works on a Fail, Pass, Merit, Distinction basis).

I scored highly on my BA dissertation (looking at sadomasochism and feminist psychoanalysis) and will be doing an MA thesis, though the topic is as yet undecided...

My GRE scores are 720V 670Q 5.0AW.

My subject test is... abysmal: 36%ile. I don't especially want to take it again, because i'm still clingy to the vain hope that adcomms will recognise that the focus of my degree(s) has not been on the canon, and the test is pretty crap anyway. I know i probably ought to take it again, though.

I don't have any journal publications, but i've had a few articles published in my UG uni paper, and i'm in the process of submitting a couple of papers to vaguely "scholarly" magazines. I'm tempted to try for journals... but wary.