Anyone applied to UC Irvine Ed Policy and Social Context?

elbee4

I applied to UCI and if anyone else out there is waiting, I just thought I'd let you know that someone from the faculty called me for a interview. The interview went fantastic, however, I was called two days later and told that the committee has decided not to admit me because someone else had higher GRE scores than me and they wanted that person for a teacher assistantship. So, in case you are waiting to hear from UCI, I imagine they will be sending out notices in the very near future.

My first rejection...hopefully the last.

I'm sorry!! That's lame. I guess GRE scores really do play a pivotal role. Makes me wonder if I should have retaken it a bunch more times to get a higher Math score.

I didn't apply to USC, but I did apply to UCLA for Urban Schooling too. I hope we hear soon!

Do you have a master's? I don't, but I have 4+ years of research experience or so,,,,,

basically this wait is driving me nuts! Good luck and I hope that the rest of your decisions are good ones!!

I applied to UCI and if anyone else out there is waiting, I just thought I'd let you know that someone from the faculty called me for a interview. The interview went fantastic, however, I was called two days later and told that the committee has decided not to admit me because someone else had higher GRE scores than me and they wanted that person for a teacher assistantship. So, in case you are waiting to hear from UCI, I imagine they will be sending out notices in the very near future.

I am sorry to hear that elbee4. I am in a similar situation. I had an interview with my first choice school and I am waiting to hear the results. My POI told me I should hear next week! :)

I'm sorry!! That's lame. I guess GRE scores really do play a pivotal role. Makes me wonder if I should have retaken it a bunch more times to get a higher Math score.