Repercussion of a Master's in CS from a small dept.

adelashk

I am trying to weigh things in, do not get me wrong; I am ecstatic to have received this offer but I feel like I have to divide my emotions from reason. I graduated from a top 10 engineering school in the U.S. (I did a dual major in Computer Engineering and Computer Science Engineering). I just got accepted to a CS master's program at an IVY school that is not very well known for CS or even engineering. My questions are-

1) Would doing a master's in CS or graduating from not a well known CS dept. dilute my chances at getting a PhD in EE (subfield: computer engineering) from a reputable EECS program?

2) For internationals, I know that CS degrees are not viewed as prestigious as a degree in Comp Eng... Would a master's in science overshadow my bachelor's of engineering?

3) What about job prospects? As a graduate of a top engineering school I rarely had trouble getting interviews at top high-tech companies, would this be the case for an unpopular CS dept. at a world class university?

I do realize that these questions might sound very shallow or I may be very well misinformed but considering I am paying tuition I feel there should be no barrier to asking such questions. Apologies if my ignorance insults anyone.

Thank you.

I don't know what Ivy you got into that you think is shoddy in CS, because all of them are top-50 and all of them but Dartmouth are top-20 (I am going based on the US News rankings, but IIRC all of them that are top-20 in that ranking are at least top-30 in the NRC ranking, and most are still top-20). None of them are "unpopular."

Getting a master's won't hurt your chances of getting into a PhD program.

How does it make sense that CS degrees would be less prestigious than CompE degrees? They are different fields with different uses and some overlap. In the US, a master's in CS will not somehow degrade your bachelor's in engineering. I can't speak for other countries' systems.