Grad School Horror Story?

Gravity

I am in my 3rd year of a PhD program in the social sciences (I’m going to keep this somewhat vague so I’m less identifiable – this probably says more about my mental state than my advisor’s ability to use Google!). I have full funding through a combination of fellowships and TA jobs, and my fellow graduate students are great. The faculty are great, too, except for my advisor. And, my department’s policy is to not allow students to switch advisors (long story, I can explain in another post if anyone is interested).

My advisor is one of those who returns drafts with 100s of edits, usually involving moving commas around, almost always correcting his own edits by the 3rd draft or so. This was irritating enough without the rants about how I would never publish (I assume because my commas are in the wrong place?), ad hominem attacks directed at my entire generation (we’re all lazy and expect something for nothing, apparently, and our parents tell us how amazing we are, but they are liars), photocopying papers I had handed in to other professors to use their comments against me (he really could have just asked me), and complaints that I was not spending enough time in the lab (I took 12 hours per semester my first year, all of which were actual classes, so 15 or so hours was about all I could handle).