GPAs and Grades

I've been here before and you guys have been a great help. So I'm here again!

I am currently enrolled in a Master's program for English. I'm in my second semester and have been given some conflicting ideas when it comes to grades. Next year I plan to apply for PhD programs in Rhetoric and New Media, especially one that is taught at the school I am currently at, but I am confused and GPAs and the like.

A professor of mine recently sent my class an email saying that a B on a paper or in a class in graduate school (MA) is equivalent to a D in undergrad. It was pretty shocking. While I know As are supposed to be aimed for, and ultimately received for ultimate achievement, I had been under the impression that a B was merely not as great as you can be and if you get a whole litany of Bs on your transcripts than you had better find a new career. Maybe my impression was wrong, but I'm not sure. So I suppose, what I'm asking is: How horrible is it to get a B or two on your graduate transcripts?

It depends on the school. Here, anything lower than a B- is a "failing grade" for graduate students- you must maintain a 3.0 average with nothing lower than a B- to stay enrolled and in good standing.

So as far as equivalency, that means that a B-/B is the equivalent of a D, the B/B+ range is a C, the B+/A- range is a B, and the A/A+ range is an A.

That said, I was fine with the B+ I got in my second semester- not thrilled, but I doubt it will hold me back to any great degree in the future. Grad school grades don't "really matter" for a terminal program, but I'd worry about them a bit more if you're looking to apply elsewhere.

I wouldn't worry overly much about one or two B's, personally- it's your publications/research/letters that will matter far more.