All Good Choices

OnceASundevil

first, i wish i'd found this website a lot sooner. this is great.

ok. i applied for Political Science PhD programs at 13 schools. I had a 4.0 at my most recent undergrad and a 1600/5.0 GRE. however, my degree is from a second(or third?)-tier public university in Michigan, and i have old transcripts from Arizona State and a local community college that are truly terrible (like, sub-2.0 GPA total). i applied to a lot of the top programs, and a few backup choices.

so far i've been accepted at eight of the schools, with two decisions outstanding and three rejections. so now i'm in the decision phase. all of the schools have offered 5 years (in one case 4 years) of guaranteed tuition waiver and stipend, which is great. (i'm trying not to take the financial side into consideration, because the difference between any of them is not that great.) the top programs i'm into are Michigan, Princeton and Berkeley.

i would appreciate any advice anyone has. i'm not looking for anyone to tell me where to go; i know i need to make the final decision, and i'm perfectly capable of doing so. i would be very interested, though, in what current grad students (or even applicants, or faculty) have to say about what i should take into consideration. so far i'm thinking a lot about placement after graduation, collegiality of the departments, and the work the current faculty are doing. are there big things i'm missing? is there any use trying to distinguish between three great places objectively? any Ivy Leaguers want to make an argument for the private school option?

thanks!

First, you're either ignorant or arrogant to call Michigan a second (or third)-tier school, especially coming from someone who got owned by Arizona State and community college. Michigan is a top program, public or private and you should be proud that you graduated from there.