Geology

Guest Ms. Geology

Guest Ms. Geology

I just thought we should have a place for anyone in geology to make any kind of random geology related post they needed. Here we go.MountHiller_typelocalityforlacoliths.jpg

• 2 weeks later...

I'm a fellow geologist!

Where all did you apply and what's your status?

I'm currently a MS student at UNC - CH and applied to Wisconsin, Syracuse, Kansas, Montana, and Minnesota.

Accepted: Wisconsin, Kansas, Montana

Rejected: Minnesota

Not sure what they are doing but don't care: Syracuse

I've signed on for my PhD in the geochemistry group at Wisconsin, I'll be working on oxygen isotopes in zircon of metamorphic rocks (UHP/HP) to understand exhumation mechanisms of these rocks.

Guest Ms. Geology

I applied to six schools in all. I have heard back from four, only one of them was bad news. I am still waiting on the University of Texas and Penn State. I am going crazy waiting on these last two. I do not know where I want to go yet, though one is slightly in the lead. I will be flying out to visit two of the schools I have been accepted to beginning this week. Where I go depends on the visits at this point; what will be the best fit.

• 2 weeks later...
Guest Ms. Geology

No decisions yet, I have one more visit this week, and then I must decide. Nope, no news from Penn State yet, so sad, I REALLY liked the program and the people (well from what I could tell through email contact and internet info). What schools are you debating over at this point?

• 4 years later...
  • 1 year later...
  • 2 months later...

Hello friends!

excuse me, can you advise me useful books for those who begins studying geology and its environmental questions? I had found some books in the free scientific library - for example that

http://reslib.com/bo...hanging_Earth#1

but i am interested in your advice.

Thank you!

http://ocw.mit.edu/courses/#earth-atmospheric-and-planetary-sciences