Pursuing Stats

I'm about done with a Master's in Computer Management and Information Sciences (same as my Bachelor's) here in the Midwest, and I've been giving some serious consideration to applying to PhD programs in Statistics. My major issue, however, is that my degree is a business degree, and as such, isn't very strong in a math background. I asked the MS Stat program coordinator where I'm lacking specifically, and he suggested I take Calc II, Calc III, Linear Algebra, and a Logic and Reasoning class. Does this sound sufficient, or should I take as much math as I can before applying (i.e. Discrete Math, Differential Equations)?

For the record, what I do have in math background is pretty spotty at best, with a C in Calc I and a D in Calc II from the University of Missouri at Rolla (when I was there in 2000-2001, now it's Missouri S&T), and a C in Discrete Math from my current school, SIUE (as an undergrad, though). Additionally, as an undergrad at SIUE, I took an Intro to Statistics class and got an A.

So, with all that said,

A) What's my best plan to get my maths up to snuff?

B ) Are there stat-related programs that I should be focusing on where my impending Master's degree might hold more weight? I've seen some schools that offer Business Statistics, for example, but I don't know what the differences might be besides the obvious.

C) I haven't taken the GRE, but I got a 700 on the GMAT (if that offers any sort of comparison), and am currently holding a 4.0 GPA in Grad School to go along with my 3.2 GPA in undergrad. Where should I be looking in terms of programs? Top, middle, bottom? Any specific recommendations?

D) Am I crazy for thinking I can pick up relatively higher-level math despite at least 8-9 years away from any knowledge of the subjects (if any, really), or succeed as a PhD candidate in Statistics?

Thanks in advance.

Vince

Edited by Vince Silvia