Complicated cohort issue...

barnswallow86

Hey everyone, long-time lurker but finally decided to post - because I have a bit of a complicated cohort/friends situation and could really use some advice =/

I'm a first-year grad student in an engineering department, and my long-time partner is at the same school for a different engineering subset. We belong to different departments. From August (when we moved to our new town) until about January, I seriously struggled with feeling out of place and "different" within my cohort (my class). Everyone in my cohort is nice and friendly enough, but I just feel out of place when I hang out with them. If we're all out eating dinner together, I have a politely pleasant time with them, but I'm really aware of filtering what I actually want to say/remark/talk about, because the group vibe is fairly straight-laced and subdued.

For example: one night we were having dinner at a casual place, and most of us ordered a drink. The topic of college came up, and I tried to get a really potentially fun conversation going about fun/slightly crazy college memories. Since I'm really conscious that it's hard to make real friends without being yourself, I put myself out there by telling about a really funny night I had during college. It was slightly crazy but nothing out of the norm, and I tried to get the ball rolling for other people to share some funny stories. I just got these looks with no response, which made me feel like I was really weird or something. Fail. That's just one example, and after a while it was really getting to me that I was so out of place in the group, and that I didn't feel like they were interested in me at all. Telling personal stories, suggesting going out to a bar, or just trying to be spontaneous/open didn't go over very well. I felt like either the one who was corrupting people (and believe me, I'm pretty tame) or who was just weird for being myself.