Advice for a new instructor?

fouler657

I'm currently a first year Master's student. I've just been informed that in the fall I'll no longer be working as a research assistant, but instead I'll be teaching two sections of an undergraduate class. I'm 23 years old, and it was just last year that I was an undergraduate student. I'm pretty nervous and unsure about how to go about everything. I'm in charge of picking my own textbook, creating my own syllabus, setting my own rules, etc.

If anyone could give me some advice, I would more than appreciate it!

Ask profs and fellow grad students if they would be willing to share their syllabi with you to give you an idea of materials, how much you can cover in a course, reasonable expectations for student work, and, if possible, maybe go sit in on a couple of those classes being taught now by an experienced professor so you can observe some classroom management strategies. Good luck!

I'm currently a first year Master's student. I've just been informed that in the fall I'll no longer be working as a research assistant, but instead I'll be teaching two sections of an undergraduate class. I'm 23 years old, and it was just last year that I was an undergraduate student. I'm pretty nervous and unsure about how to go about everything. I'm in charge of picking my own textbook, creating my own syllabus, setting my own rules, etc.

If anyone could give me some advice, I would more than appreciate it!