Please evaluate my SOP

APPLYING TO FOLLOWING:

CIPA CORNELL

USC

PENN FELS

CHICAGO HARRIS

GEORGETOWN

To be nobody but yourself--in a world which is doing its best, nightand day, to make you everybody else--means to fight the hardest battle whichany human being can fight; and never stop fighting.” My first reflectionupon reading this passage by E.E. Cummings; I think I’ve read this storybefore. The realization was hard to stomach. When choosing a direction for thefuture, for my career, for my life, for my family even, I have often acceptedpositions, jobs and decisions based on a compromise; of my dreams and thedreams of those around me. This leads me to writing this letter.

Let me establish a picture. Its 2006. I am 20 years old. I had justreturned from travelling for a year in South Asia, where I worked as a managerat my grandfather’s farm in Lahore, Pakistan. I was due to begin my law degree.My parents were ecstatic. I had spent time in my grandfather’s birthplace, wasacclimated with the traditions and culture of Eastern Pakistan and I was tobecome a lawyer. I was the perfect son. Reflecting now asa qualified lawyer, beginning my very first job at a law firm last fall, wasthe wake-up call, for a lack of a better phrase, which I didn’t think wouldemerge. I have exhausted 4 years of my life, significant amount of capital, andinternships the world over to discover that, being a lawyer is not what I want.Even typing these words are difficult. I could lie and say the desire for animmediate career led me towards the law; however, it was the desire of myparents that led to me the law.