Getting jobs and humility

tesolin4languages

Hello everyone :)

I am a student at University of Rochester, and I am studying MS TESOL (Teaching English to Speakers of other Languages)

In a job interview, is it okay to brag, by being eager to state your accomplishments? Or should you answer only if asked?

It seems to me that in college applications, that is the time to brag, but tactfully.

What about in job interviews?

I have been denied jobs that are unrelated to my profession, many times because I come off, according to the employers as "too good" or "overqualified." I bring a resume that is packed full of "Magna Cum Laude," or won this award or that.

I am rather upset because I was placed with a future mentor (a teacher I will be observing for more than 100 hours and then I will take over the classroom) and met her at a restaurant. I handed her what I *assume* was a presumptuous resume. And even though I believe we had great connection, she replies a few days later saying "I don't think we have the right connection."

I believe I tried too hard to sell myself.

I try to be humble as much as possible, and sure, while not intended, I can very easily make people jealous with just a brief look at my resume.

Any tips on perfecting humility, and how I should approach future things such as this?

Thanks everyone!

TESOL

Edited by tesolin4languages

I try to be humble as much as possible, and sure, while not intended, I can very easily make people jealous with just a brief look at my resume.

This struck me as a major "yikes" and a red flag. I hope this doesn't come across in your interviews that you think your interviewers will be "jealous" of your accomplishments. This is highly unlikely especially since you are starting out in your career and academic awards don't tend to make normal, well-balanced individuals jealous.