Being a Competitive Applicant

thedig13

So, basically, here it is. I currently go to a decent (but not great) school as an undergrad. On US News & World Report's rankings, it's ranked between 75 and 100.

If I want to be a competitive applicant to a top-tier graduate school (i.e.: Columbia, Brown, Northwestern, Berkeley, maybe Stanford if the powers-that-be shine upon me), should I transfer to a higher-ranked school for my undergrad studies?

I've heard it both ways: yes, where you went to undergrad matters, and, no, it doesn't really matter as long as your GPA/GRE/experience/LORs are legit.

My primary concern is that, if I transfer to a more competitive school, my GPA might drop a bit.

Some advice, input, pearls of wisdom, stories about your own paths to grad school would be great here.

Edited by thedig13

I was a transfer student but I didn't transfer for better name. From my experiences, if you are already very happy where you are, then stay! Transferring is tough! It's worth doing so if you think the new school will meet your academic/living needs better (which was in my case). Otherwise you may find yourself unhappy at your new school if it doesn't do anything for your other than vanity. As long as you are among the top students in your department and have strong relationships with your professors, you will be okay. It just so happens that students at higher ranked institutions are already exposed to doctoral programs there and have the top-notch faculty's names. But a honest, personal, and well-written letters from a little-known professor is better than a lukewarm one from a famous professor (which at this point you don't even known if those kind of professors will have time to prepare you). Graduate programs realize that everyone comes from different programs and respect that. Also, you can check on your department's placement records- see where the graduates have gone.