How did you guys started looking for PhD schools (except best ranking)?

Hello fellow grad students,

I hope you guys can help me. I'm half way through my Master's, and I feel like I should start looking for PhD schools. My major is media communication and my specific interest is Internet/fandom culture (Jenkins). I want to become a professor. I'm not looking for best ranking communication schools because I know I can't get in, so I'm trying to find other ways to find my school. I'm looking through phD.org and this website (but it seems like everyone is so much smarter and has better qualifications than me!). Any websites or school recommendations will be greatly appreciated. My current grad GPA is 3.8. I'm writing a thesis to graduate. My undergraduate GPA is.... (it was my dark years, I was also pre-med before) 2.8. I will take GRE soon.

Also, can I apply to schools before I complete my Master's? It seems like many schools' deadline for application is December or January for Fall. I think I will finish all my classes and thesis like in Spring.

Thanks and good luck to you all!

I'm looking through phD.org and this website (but it seems like everyone is so much smarter and has better qualifications than me!).

First, it's an illusion :) Everybody who is applying feels uncertain of their skills and qualifications :) But if you do your best and choose schools to apply wisely, you will get in!

Can you apply to schools before you complete my Master's? You certainly can! A lot of people here do it this way. I don't know how they order transcripts, though... But you can ask about that on the Applications board.

On the same board you can read the first thread (it's pinned). There I have described how I, personally, have started looking for schools :)

Here are some things you can do to find a program that fits you:

1. My first step was checking out where the people whose articles I used for my thesis are faculty members.