PhD student apply for another PhD program

chichi

Hey guys

I am a first-year PhD student in HK. I am thinking about applying for PhD programs in the States. My major would probably not change. Is there any trouble I may face in the situation? Would schools in the States decline such case? I appreciate very much your reply!

Generally in the US, it's frown upon, largely because programs are full-funding and they don't like to "waste" their investments. But it's acceptable if a primary faculty member left and the student has absolutely no support. Or if the program includes a MA thesis/coursework as part of the PhD (as opposed to direct PhD and picking up the MA after comprehensive exams).

Thanks for your reply. I am confused about something you said. Hope you could give more detailed explanation and analysis. Appreciate!

1. What do you mean "they don't like to waste their investments?"

2. I am not familiar with grad school system in the States. What is "the program includes a MA thesis/coursework as part of the PhD (as opposed to direct PhD and picking up the MA after comprehensive exams)"?

1. Graduate programs spend well over $200,000-$300,000 over the course of five years on a single student. This includes living stipend, tuition waivers, health care (if you're lucky), TA-ships, and grants. For a student to walk out after 2 years, that's a loss of close to $100K. History job market is very bad and there are a lot of reasons why doctoral programs in the humanities shouldn't be funded and these programs need reasons to keep getting the money. If they keep losing students to transfer, drop out, or whatever, then it just doesn't make them look good. Doctoral programs don't make money but they DO produce scholars and that's when they think "that was a good investment," especially when the student lands a tenure-track job.