suggestions on how to turn around a bad first couple of years?

borange

I didn't pass a couple of classes and I've only produced a few publications.

I was ill one semester and another I was being sabotaged by my classmate. Now my advisor and everyone who knows her hates me (she never stops at an opportunity to say something bad about me to them).

Also, she stopped the publication of my more recent papers. She continually tells me I am not producing work, yet she killed my papers, one of which got accepted into a higher-level conference. The new projects I am on are dead end projects that I would never want my name on.

Whenever I start a new project, she goes out of her way to "talk" to the other members of the project and tell them how awful I am. As a result, I am treated horribly by my team members. They want to fit in with the professors so will join in with the insults and belittling behavior.

I was a personal and professional disaster when I started school here. I didn't have anyone to explain to me how things work and what was really expected of me and how to handle certain situations. I was weak and nice and people found that it was easy to step on me or humiliate me.

Now, I'm stronger and I really get what I am doing. But I'm worried it's too late. My advisor clearly is trying to kill my career and resents the fact that I am getting better, as it discredits all the bad things she has said about me to everyone. She refuses to acknowledge I am making progress.

Can anyone give me advice on how to turn things around? I'm professional at school now and have gotten better at playing the political game. I now know when someone is acting sneaky and know how to counter any such action.

If my advisor is determined that I will fail, is my career finished? She's one of the top people in our specialty and is well connected with everybody who is anybody. Any advice on how to turn my career around?