Professors declining to work with me as a PhD adviser

I am currently a 2nd year PhD student, at the end of last year my adviser had a meeting and told me I was not progressing as he had hoped and suggested I leave the program, but that I could stay, as it is there hope that a student would improve. He ominously said though that if I did stay I would have a difficulty finding other professors to work with me on a dissertation or as an adviser. I asked him at the time if I need to find a new adviser and he said no, but as I would find out in the Fall that was not true. I have passed all my classes and am not in danger as far as grades go, I believe this had to do with me not being a TA or GA, and he had been harsh on some papers I turned in during his classes. I had a really hard personal year in which I had to drive home (3.5 hrs away) every week to help out my family so my work could have been hindered but it wasn't enough so for professors to give me anything but A's and B+s. He was not sympathetic to my families tragedy and when I showed up in the fall he told me I needed to find an adviser, which I have asked the only five professors in my field in the program all have declined, either stating they have too many graduate students or don't have the same research interest (which is dubious because after the 2nd decline I was making my research to fit their specialties). I am on pace to finish all of my course work this spring but without an adviser I will not be able to work on my dissertation. My question is, is it heard of for an entire department to block a student out and prevent him from completing their degree?