take what I can get or wait? is a bird in the hand worth 2 in the bush?

phetish

So here's my situation:

I am a non-traditional student that returned to finish an undergrad degree (in May 2012) after almost 20 years out of school and I would like to go for a Masters.

I have a wife that has a job that she doesn't want to leave yet, but will likely be ready to move on in a couple years - not to mention that we have a certain wanderlust that hits every so often and we end up moving across country for some reason.

I expect I can get accepted to the graduate program at the local state school next fall and get funded however it is not a great school.

And here's my question:

Should I go ahead and get the masters now while the wife finishes out her time at her current job, or should I wait 2 years and apply to a better school and let that lead us to our next location?

I realize there is no "right" answer, but I'm curious what others might think if they were in this situation.

Thanks in advance!

Derek

S -

Good question! I haven't thought much about that part of it. I know I should do something that would set me apart when I go to apply for grad school later, but what that is... it's unknown to me at this point.

It's questions like yours that will help me flesh out my thoughts - thank you!

D

Hi R -

I am on 2 paths, teaching (preferably at small/community college with a masters or a university with a PhD) or the Foreign Service/State Dept - both would benefit from or require a Masters along the way.

However, the local state university does not have a PhD in my chosen area so I would definitely have to to go somewhere else for a PhD.

D

Were I in your situation, I would apply to the local program and then evaluate my options if I were admitted. (For example, if you get in, are offered funding, and the economy still looks bad, hunkering down in a research library for a year or two might not be a bad way to go.)