Losing hope

sa316

I am currently a junior at a competitive private university majoring in Human Physiology and minoring in Public Health. I basically screwed up my first two years and have a ~2.5 GPA. Yes, I know it's terrible. However, I am bringing it up so I will have an upward trend by the time I graduate. Realistically, when I graduate I'm thinking I'll have a cumulative GPA of 2.8-3.0 with my last two years hopefully being 3.3+.

I have a lot of research experience. I'm currently working at a Biophysics/Physiology lab and I presented my research at a symposium not too long ago. I also have experience doing summer research work in a Pulmonary lab and hoping to get an internship of some sort this summer.

Now, assuming I do well on my GREs (I can be a pretty good test-taker if I study), what are my chances at MA/PhD programs? I'm interested in Neuroscience, Molecular Biology, and Immunology. Should I get an MA first and then apply to PhD? And if so, what MA programs could I get into? I've been reading a lot about the combined MA/PhD programs so I was interested in that but I'm not sure if my chances have been shot to hell.

Even if you did well on your GREs, your GPA is still very low for the types of programs you're interested in. A lot of these programs have an average accepted GPA of 3.5-3.7 and a good portion won't accept students below a 3.0. I would start looking into schools and seeing what their specific admission requirements are.

Your GPA is quite low for PhD programs. Keep trying to raise your grades and then apply to some MA programs. Prove that you can do very well in a MA program to show PhD programs you can be successful in grad school. Also, though you do have poor grades many schools like to see an upward trend. It's better than your bad grades are freshman/sophomore year and not junior/senior year.