Geology 2009

solefolia

I haven't seen a whole lot of Geology results or postings, even from previous years, but a thread to see if there are any other applicants can't hurt.

Where are you applying, what are your research interests, have you heard back yet, etc.?

I'm a biology student more than anything else, but I have applied to a couple geoscience programs who have people working in geomicrobiology. I'd be interested to hear if anyone has heard from Penn State yet.

Good luck to all!

• Replies 62
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Hey, it's always a treat to find other earth science people here.

You can see where I'm applying in my signature below. I'm actually geophysics, but all my friends and family think it's the same as geology anyways. I myself haven't heard anything yet but I saw one person on the results list who heard from two of the schools I applied to (UCSD, Stanford).

Which programs did you apply to?

I'm looking to do sedimentology/paleoclimate/geobiology research.

So far I've gotten a really good offer and a lot of interest from UT Austin, but haven't heard anything from the other schools, except to expect to hear from Berkeley (if I'm accepted) in late February and not til late-ish March if its rejected or accepted as a backup choice.

I'm super nervous about hearing from Stanford...

I'm looking to do sedimentology/paleoclimate/geobiology research.

So far I've gotten a really good offer and a lot of interest from UT Austin, but haven't heard anything from the other schools, except to expect to hear from Berkeley (if I'm accepted) in late February and not til late-ish March if its rejected or accepted as a backup choice.

I'm super nervous about hearing from Stanford...

Congrats on getting into UT. I did my undergrad and know a few grad students there so if you have questions on anything, I'd be happy to help (though I know more about the geophysics there than anything else).