Syracuse Teaching Statement?

Is anyone struggling with the Syracuse Teaching Statement? As a freshly graduated undergraduate, I am having a hard time with this statement. I was a TA for one class, and that's the extent of my teaching experience. Is anyone else in my boat?

Thoughts?

A TA for a class? That sounds like just the kind of experience they're looking for, which I think is especially impressive considering you only have a BA. Going about it from the angle rawera suggests is a great idea, I think. Are you familiar with Gregory Semenza's "Graduate Study for the 21st Century"? Somewhere in there, it includes a chapter on teaching, which includes a sample statement of teaching philosophy, which could give you a sense of the kind of tone they might expect of you.

And it goes without saying, I would really avoid typos. I'm sure you'll be fine!

I had to write a teaching SOP for one of my schools as well: Some quesitons to consider: What did you learn during your time as a TA? Can you describe your teaching methodology? What do you hope for yourself as a future teacher?

You can also google search "teaching philosophy" and a lot of examples will come up - that might give you some ideas. Good luck.