I finished my bachelor's two years early. Good or bad?

adav42

I started college at 18, but finished when I was 20. I'm taking a year off (to go to a different college for fun...) and now I'm applying to psychology doctoral programs.

I have research experience. My GPA is a 3.7, I have a 167 Verbal score and, unfortunately, a 150 Quant score. Apparently, this is a 1330 when converted.

Is finishing early going to make a difference, good or bad, especially since with a year off, I'm not that far off from a normal application age?

Edited by adav42

Neutral, perhaps tilting toward negative. It might seem like you rushed through college and didn't take the time to have any "life experience." Apparently that's a fairly-frequently cited downside to all straight-from-UG applicants, that they don't have enough "life experience."

TBH the major downside to this is that there's no way you were in college long enough to have the requisite amount of research experience to be competitive. So that's the real question to ask yourself. How many years of research experience do you have, and of what kind?

Hey when I first came to college, I wanted to graduate in 3 years and then go to grad school afterwards. My profs all rejected the ideas, and my advisor simply told me that if I do it in 3 years, I would not be able to get into grad school for sure because I wouldnt have enough research experience. So I guess it depends on how much research experience you actually have... (for me, I got ALOT more experience and better LOR in 4 years than trying to graduate in 3).

im a year younger than people in my year - from what im told by my supervisors, it has no effect on your chances of admission

maybe if they are deciding between two otherwise similar applicants, but if you're stats are good i wouldn't worry.

It has nothing to do with age... It's the amount of experience.