Classics Ph.D and No Language Experience

CBowling

Hi all!

I posted this on the college confidential website, but I came across this one which is aimed strictly for grad students, so I figured I might get a better informed answer than there.

To start with, I am in my fourth year of my undergraduate degree and I plan on graduating with a BA in European Studies/History in May of 2012. However, I am only going for the European Studies degree because that was the closest thing we had to a Classics undergrad at my school. (University of West Florida in Pensacola). This institution, however, has left me extremely limited in terms of Latin and Greek, for it offers neither for any student to study, so I am left with trying to teach myself. I have had a semester of Latin at a community college before I transferred, but I know that will not be nearly enough.

This leads me to my question: What do you all recommend I do? I want to become a Classics professor someday (I am aiming to get a Ph.D) but I know that I am severely behind on the language requirements. I know that if I applied to a Ph.D program right now that I would not get accept. I know there are Post-Bac programs, but I am unsure if those programs are for those without any prior knowledge, or if they are made to simply expand and intensify the education of those already experienced in Latin and Greek.

I also have heard of "terminal MA's" that might be able to get me in the right track. (I've never actually heard of a terminal MA, so I don't really know what it means.) Needless to say, I have done plenty of research and taken several courses relating to the history, art, and culture of the Greeks and Romans and I have put a great deal of effort into studying the subject in my spare time, though I am probably no where near the knowledge of a Classics BA. However, my biggest pitfall is the language requirement.