Hi everyone:

As of last month I'm graduated with my MDiv--however, my vocational plans (as they are wont to do) got switched around a bit. I went to div school thinking I wanted to do PhD work and then got bitten by the ministry bug. This final year--after much discernment--I decided that I felt called to the Episcopal Church (instead of the UMC in which I grew up) and am in the confirmation process. This means that I will probably need to get a Certificate in Anglican Studies to place me on the ordination track.

I'm thus looking for a job that can pay rent and put food on the table until I complete confirmation and get a glowing enough recommendation from my clergy to advance me into this certificate program. I have not had much luck thus far, despite that my degree comes from a top-ranked university in my field. Likely because a lot of my experience is in the area of LGBTQ rights and my degree is in ministry. I also have experience as an administrative assistant, working in a library and as a chaplain.

Any thoughts or advice? Should I look for jobs on campus at my old university? What jobs can I make an MDiv look suited for? Are there any websites that are more helpful than others with job listings?

I'm starting to feel the financial pull because--since I graduated in December--I'm on a month-to-month payment plan at my apartment complex and it is blood-pressure-raisingly expensive.

You have no idea how grateful I am for whatever help you can provide.

Edited by besixdouze

• 3 weeks later...

Our friend got his MDiv from Truett and has worked as an assistant/worship pastor for a smaller urban church and is now a youth pastor another. Your seminary/theological school should have some sort of job placement office to help.