Lost funding - now what?

robot_hamster

As the title says, I have lost my funding. It wasn't anything I did, it's just that there was a shortage of TA positions this semester. I have 2 semesters left to go, if I continue going full-time. Unfortunately, I had been relying on my stipend to pay the bills. I'm not sure how I will make it through the semester without it. I really don't know what to do. Has anyone ever had this happen?

I've just started, so no I've never had this happen. What other options have you looked into? Have you tried TA-ing for other departments? Are you in a PhD or Master's? If you are a PhD student, and you have achieved Candidacy, and you are finishing your dissertation, the university may be able to help you out if the department cannot.

I'm a masters student, priority is given to PhD students. My last paycheck was at the end of December. There was no warning, but there has never been any guarantee either. I wasn't initially offered funding, I had to work really hard to get my first TA position. The rest just sort of followed. I guess there just wasn't much to be had this semester. I was informed last week.

Can you take out a loan?

How much do you have in savings?

FYI - I know PhD students at private schools who are paying out of pocket right now for their engineering degrees, so for this to happen to a Master's student.... it doesn't make it any better for you, but the economy is terrible right now and this is whats happening

No, I haven't tried that yet. I'm not sure how I would go about doing that since most TA positions are not advertised.

****************Most jobs in this world are not advertised.***********************

I would write a VERY, VERY strong cover letter and curriculum vitae, and make an excellent impression in person when you hand deliver it to every department on campus that you could possibly TA for. If you need details on what to put in the cover letter, let me know