CMU Heinz MSPPM

techie

I have been lurking in this forum for a while and just recently got around to posting on it (partly intimidation by the high GPA and GREs). I see a lot of people who have applied to most of the other schools, just curious if there are others on this board who have applied to the MSPPM at Carnegie Mellon. It is the only program I have applied to for Public Policy work due to the courses they offer which interest my technical undergraduate and work background, since my background is Software Engineering.

If you did apply to this program, how did you decide between the split 2 year track (D.C./Pitt) and the 2 year track in Pittsburgh.

Hey techie.

I applied to the MSPPM at CMU. I decided to apply to the split track between Pittsburgh and Washington, D.C. because my career ambitions are to work on federal policy issues. The apprenticeship was attractive to me for networking options and getting practical experience in D.C. I did call CMU, and they told me that since there is a limited number of spots in the D.C. track that I would also be considered for the traditional two year program in Pittsburgh if the D.C. program filled up.

I applied to CMU Heinz MSPPM as well.

I decided to do the D.C. track program because my interests lie in development policy--the second-year in D.C. will allow me to get some more first-hand experience. A great thing about the D.C. program is that you're responsible for setting up your own apprenticeship (of course the program will assist you if you require it), so you can tailor it to your exact desires.

The DC track is much more competitive than the 2-year Pittsburgh program. The Pittsburgh program accepts slightly less than 50% of all applicants. Three days before the deadline, the D.C. track had received 60 applications for about 17 spots--or about 28%. From what I've read, only Princeton and Harvard accept a lower percentage of students (I could be wrong).