interview chat/despair place

hi folks,

so i've somehow managed to receive two interview invitations, one from duke and the other from johns hopkins humanities center. the former is an interview weekend, and the latter is a skype interview; i'm nervous as hell about both, for johns hopkins and duke are my 1st and 2nd choices, respectively. so i suppose i have two questions: (1) has anyone interviewed with either school in the past, and if so, is there any specific advice you can offer? (2) can someone offer some general advice about these kinds of interviews?

for what it's worth, i've applied to duke's literature program, and to the comparative literature track at the humanities center. i'm an undergraduate, in my final semester, working on my thesis, etc.

perhaps this can be a place to talk about interview stuff in general; i imagine many us have received interview invitations, or will in the near future.

Thanks for creating this thread! I'm also incredibly nervous about the interview at Duke. I can't really tell what the format will be from the itinerary they sent out. Will we be interviewed individually in front of the admissions panel or one-on-one with our POIs? I'll be e-mailing them soon to get some sense of the process. In the mean time, I will pick my mentors' brains for ideas and schedule some kind of mock interview with them. I'll come back to this thread soon with more ideas...

I've spent a bit of time at Duke this past semester, and from what I've gathered from conversations with current grad students, there will be a one-on-one interview at one point in the weekend. However, I'm also under the impression that the weekend isn't too strenuous and therefore shouldn't the cause of too much anxiety. After all, we've already made it through the most difficult part of the application process (for Duke, that is).

Let me know what they tell you after you send the email. I'm also very curious how many people they invited this year...I guess we'll see.