Employment Prospects- MPP

m4g1c0ff3

Hey all,

So since I've been accepted into my first school its really got me thinking about after graduation employment opportunities. I was a first year law student last year and left after I realized finding a job was next to impossible out of law school these days ( I also attended what most law students know as a third tier toilet, my fault.)

I am applying to the Harris School, Heinz College, GWU, American, GMU and UVA.I was accepted into American this weekend.

Does anyone have any idea how hard it is to find employment in the private sector these days? Ideally I would like to work for a Booze Allen or Deloitte, or some type of firm of that nature.

Is is impossible to find this kind of work these days unless your going to HKS or the top ranked student in your class?

side note- does any one know if there is a real difference in terms of prestige from GWU's MPP compared to American's?

it will be very hard for you to find work at booze allen mainly because they won't recruit at the schools listed above and it will be hard for you to even get an interview without great work experience or a "prestigious" pedigree. it seems like you want to get into consulting and to do that an elite master's degree is needed to get an interview. deloitte is a far step down from a firm like booze allen though so you may have a small shot there.