Preparation of History Ph.D applications

white_rabbit

I'm sorry if this has been posted before, but if so I can't find it by search. I'm a freshman at a top 5 University, and I've long had an interest in becoming a Professor. I am hoping to go to lunch with my advisor later in the semester to discuss how to work towards such a goal, but I thought I'd ask here for advise about graduate school admissions more specifically. I know that History is an unfortunately competitive field at this point in time, so obviously an important step towards academia is a top graduate program in one's area of study. But are there specific things I should look at accomplishing during my undergraduate career? I have an amazing array of resources here, and I have already spent a decent amount of time interacting with top scholars in class and at office hours. I'm taking French at the moment, and I hope to start German at some point in the near future. My interests in history tend to fall around intellectual history, international relations, economic history, and general modern european history. I am hoping to start working as a Professor's research assistant starting next fall. Besides doing well in classes and writing a senior thesis, what other types of things should I focus on? Thank you for your help!