Anyone considering the Chicago MAPSS offer?

sharalaxp

hey there,

i have gotten a string of disappointing news for my cultural anthropology phd applications.

today, i got a full-tuition masters offer from university of chicago (instead of being admitted to the phd program)... this definitely doesn't cover living costs for the year that i will be spending studying, but my parents are so desperate for my situation that they'll probably cover that for me...ha.

anyways, i am still painfully waiting to hear back from 3 more schools (but from what i have seen on this forum, i should have heard a long time ago if i was accepted, so i'm going to rule those schools out mentally..for now).

BACK TO MY MAIN POINT (sorry for the long intro),

is there anyone who is in a similar boat here?

Edited by mhchoi89

I applied directly to MAPSS and got half tuition. I'm unsure whether it's worth it or even possible for me to attend because I'd rather not take out more loans (already in massive debt from undergrad) as much as I desperately want to enroll. I'm honestly torn in two over this, since it was my first choice and I doubt I'll actually get any funding from the other two MA programs I applied to.

But with a full tuition offer, that is fantastic. I did my undergrad as an Anthropology major at UChicago and have heard on the whole positive things about the program from MAPSS students, especially if you want to give a try at Anthro PhD applications after getting an MA (that was my hope). However, if your heart was set on a UChicago PhD, just a warning: doing MAPSS will hurt rather than improve your chances of getting into Chicago for PhD after MAPSS. Or so I've heard from one prof.

Anyway, congrats and I would keep MAPSS in mind if the other programs you're waiting on don't turn out.